Raspberry Shortbread, Nutella, and DIY Wedding Crafts

Mom and I have locked ourselves in the house today….for wedding planning….

It can’t be avoided.  It has to get done.  Something DIY post-brides should tell other DIY pre-brides is that DIY really means…DIY.  You do it all yourself.  Every last bit.  And it’s a lot of work.

The last three months of college, when Drew was still out of the country studying, I told Mom we were going to stop until all planning until May.  It’s now May 31, 2013.  Sixty-five days to go.  So much work to do.  All for one day.  One beautiful, blessed, glorious, God-given day.  I cannot wait for that day 🙂

The nice thing about Mom is that she is so in to DIY. And she’s good at it.  And she has great friends.  One of them, Cynthia, is coming over today to help.  The agenda?  54 tissue paper flowers, 40 sheet music wheels for centerpieces, if we’re lucky.  I’ll post pics if we actually make our goal.

It’s such a blessing to have Mom and Cynthia wanting to help out, especially when that means sitting for hours at our dining room table getting calloused fingers from tissue paper, tulle, and wire.  Not to mention burying ourselves in the inevitable twine and burlap that is parading boldly in this year’s wedding styles.

To thank them, I put together a little treat, using the homemade Nutella I made the other night and the new shortbread recipe I’ve been practicing.  Mom threw in some delicious lemon-mint iced tea to boot!

Shortbread is actually quite easy to make and fun to play with.  It’s basically flour, baking powder, butter, eggs, heavy whipping cream, sugar, and vanilla.

Here are your wet ingredients.  Keep them fairly cold.  The butter should be soft enough to cream with the sugar.

Image

And of course the dry ingredients…very unpretentious.

Image

Cream together the butter and sugar first.  The most delicious combination in baking history.

Image

Oooooh…..I just thought the action in this picture was so cool.  Wish I could be this excited about sports action shots…

Add your other wet ingredients.  It will look something like this:

Image

Dry ingredients next!!! I usually pour them in thirds, a little at a time:

Image

Now this next part is kind of my own….I wanted to see what the cookies would look like with raspberry in them, and I liked the idea of raspberry and Nutella together (the topping I’ll use).  I mashed some beautiful raspberries and poured them into the dough and mixed. Then I wrapped it in plastic wrap to chill. Not super attractive.  But I could see chunks of butter inside the dough.  That is a good sign 🙂

Image

Now let me clue you in about shortbread.  There is a giant debate over it.  Some people say chill for an hour or overnight.  That “or” seems pretty crucial to me…I mean we’re talking like a twelve hour chill-difference here.  So I did both.  And I can confidently say that the overnight ones are WAY better.  Another crushing defeat for my immediate gratification of a sweet tooth.  Oh well.

So, today…I baked 🙂 I love cookie cutters.  They are so classic.

Image

Put them on a cookie sheet with parchment paper, bake ten minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Image

Wait till you see how beautiful they turn out. Especially when paired with homemade Nutella!  Hopefully this sugar high will help us swim through the sea of tissue paper to crafting success!

Image

Lemon-Mint Iced Tea, Homemade Nutella, and Raspberry Shortbread Cookies, and Good Friends!

Image

Recipe

3 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 cup sugar

1 1/2 cup butter (softened)

1 egg (room temp)

3 tbsp heavy whipping cream

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

*Most shortbread recipes are pretty standard.  I got mine from Fraiche Ideas For Living– I love their blog!

Leave Your Thoughts

