“She put in all she had”: Lessons in Giving

I’ve never paid much attention to the story of the Widow’s Mite from the Gospel of Mark.  It seems fairly simple and self-explanatory…she gave all she had to the temple offering, etc.  But in the last two days, God has brought this story to my attention through a modern re-enactment in my community.

We’ve been living in Hillsdale for over a month now, and I have dominated much of that time by job hunting and stressing about money.  It’s been an up-hill battle to trust God to provide for our needs.  Do we ever think about God as who He says He is?  I certainly don’t…I put Him in my own little box where I can make Him act just the way I want Him too.

But He isn’t like that.  God is big.  Really big.

IMG_0464
Drew told me once that God reveals Himself today through people…through the body of His people.  And we are the outward expression of Him to the world.   You can see Christ in your community, if your neighbors are actively loving and following Him.  You can see Him everywhere.

Our town is very small and rural.  People don’t have a lot, but what they do have, they share.  This was hard for me to accept at first because I hate asking for help or favors.  This is where the Widow’s Mite comes into play.  I’ve been seeing this in the last month we’ve been here, especially yesterday and today.

Yesterday was a particularly busy day, and I was feeling a little overwhelmed.  A knock on the door brought a dear friend and neighbor with a bucket of beautiful apples from their orchard they wanted us to have. I was so touched by the warmth and sincerity she offered, giving us fruit from their trees and driving all the way to town to do it.

IMG_0468

After she left, Drew and I met our friends at the fair.  They were so kind and bought our tickets and showered us in blessings while we were there.  Drew and I are continually amazed at this community that those who have little to give still give it with all their hearts.  We’ve been invited to dinner, given fresh eggs, warmly encouraged and prayed for, mentored, and welcomed into families.

IMG_0443

IMG_0447

IMG_0445

IMG_0459

The generosity of God is unfathomable.  He loves to give His children good gifts.  He loves to remind us that His love is an overflow-endlessly pouring into us that we might abide in Him and in turn overflow in our communities.  Though we give all we have, we may be sure that our Great Provider will always meet our needs.

Drew and I were expecting to have our needs met through me finding a job, and yet God decided to humble us and love us through our new community.  He revealed how my inward focus made Him so small.  When I turned outward, I could see Him, and I could see His sovereignty.

IMG_0439

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, raining down from the Father of Lights, with whom there is no shadow or variation due to change.”

One thought on ““She put in all she had”: Lessons in Giving

  1. Thank you, thank you for this, Bekka! I can relate! Thanks for your encouraging words. It’s funny how God provides, and humbles us at the same time. Also, I love the pictures of Drew. . . you are lookin’ great as a married couple!

Leave Your Thoughts

