Welcome, Baby Frenchie!

So I’ve been gone from my new blog for a while…pretty much like 9 months.  A lot has happened in that time…worked a new job and quit the job…traveled a bit…started my master’s program…got pregnant…

Wait…

IMG_0789

 

Yep, it’s all true!  Drew and I are so excited to be a little over four months pregnant.  Baby Frenchie will be making an appearance come November 10 (approximately…)

We can hardly wait to meet Frenchie.  In two weeks, we will hopefully find out the gender.  It’s been an incredible 18 weeks so far.  God is teaching us so much about selflessness and faith.  We feel so in awe of the little one we have made…At first we were absolutely terrified, but the Lord has given us so much rest in Him, and we know that He planned this exactly the way it should be.

We have been getting more and more excited, especially thanks to so much of the excitement from our families and those around us.

Last week I felt Frenchie kick for the first time.  It is one of the coolest and weirdest feelings I have ever felt.  I still cannot fathom a little baby moving around inside of me.  The baby is much much bigger than the above ultrasound.  That was taken about six weeks ago.

IMG_0820

And all the little things that come with them!  These are some sweet booties my dear friend Jess made for me.

Baby Frenchie is part of the reason I came back to the blog.  I had almost decided to give it up since my posts were few and far between, but with the baby coming and us moving to the Middle East in a little over a year, I still think it will be such a fun way to keep people in touch with our lives and culinary adventures! And now Baby Frenchie too!

And in case you were wondering, I did not stop cooking.  Although, it’s true what they say- first semester of pregnancy is a total beast! I stopped cooking for a very long time, and it was miserable.  It was like parts of my personality were gone.  Thankfully, Frenchie and I are well into the 2nd trimester, and we both feel great!  Food is such an important part of our life- it is hospitality and a way to bring people together.

Here are some photos of our adventures in the kitchen the past few months!

Brown sugar cupcakes with a vanilla buttercream and salted caramel drizzle

IMG_0888

 

Pork chops with smoked corn sauté and truffle mashed potatoes

IMG_0891

 

Lemon curd tart with a blueberry compote

IMG_0869

 

 

 

Leave Your Thoughts

