Brown Sugar Mini Cakes

Do you ever just want to eat cake?  It is so delicious.  But then there’s that annoying problem of having a whole cake laying around for a week and snagging a bit off it every time you go into the kitchen.  Before you know it, you’re three pounds heavier.

This is where my solution comes in, and I think it is brilliant.  Insert the mini cakes! I love these.  They are really sophisticated and adorable, but you can control how much cake is actually made.  When you make mini cakes, you can have your cake, eat it too, and then not have to worry about it the next day. It’s perfect!

I have this current obsession with brown sugar cake.  It’s so delicious.  It’s very heavy and dense, more like a pound cake, but it has this beautiful carmel flavor.  By no means do I recommend this to people on a diet.  Which brings me to my next point…

I have recently been diagnosed with gestational diabetes.  This was pretty difficult for me to imagine because, as a food-lover, I hate carb moderation of all kinds.  My meal of preference is a giant bowl of pasta…yummmmmy.

But this is one of the things I’m learning about motherhood.  You have to make sacrifices for the health of your baby, and when I think about little Piper getting sick or having diabetes because I wouldn’t moderate my diet, it’s a terrifying thought.  So onto the paleo lifestyle for the next six weeks!

I’m actually really excited about it because I’ve been reading a lot about nutrition, and I think this is going to be really educational for Drew and me.  Basically, the next phase of the blog is going to be savory dishes and probably all low-carb.  Maybe that will be helpful for you all too!

But we couldn’t go low-carb without one final homage to sweets.  Thus the brown sugar cakes.  I made these a few weeks ago, and they’ve been just dying to hit the media.

I took the Brown Sugar Cupcake recipe from How Sweet It Is (I seriously love love love that blog), and adapted it to a cake format.

Disclaimer: I was really, really sloppy on the pictures. No judgment! I still can’t frost a cake. It’s pretty much the bane of my existence.  Tips, anyone?

IMG_1376

YUM!!!! This cake is so delicious.  And who doesn’t love their own personal cake?  I simply made the cupcake batter version and divided into four ramekins.

IMG_1343

Then I baked those off for about twenty minutes at 350 degrees.  They cooled on a rack and then I sliced them in half.  I iced between each layer using a vanilla buttercream, and voila! Magnificent little towers of goodness!

IMG_1349

Please trust me when I tell you to make these cakes.  They take no time at all, they are so delicious, and they’re a super fun way to change up dessert.

Brown Sugar Cupcakes (Adapted from How Sweet It Is)

1 cup loosely packed brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

3/4 cup milk

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Then combine the wet ingredients and mix.  In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients together (yes, do sift your flour! I think it makes a big difference). Mix the dry ingredients into the wet by hand (I think it keeps the batter light).

Divide batter evenly among four prepared ramekins.  Line the ramekins on a baking sheet and bake for about twenty minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.

Allow them to rest in the ramekins on a wire cooling sheet (not the pan) for about ten minutes, then remove them and let them cool on the wire rack.

Slice in half and layer to make little individual cakes (how many layers you decide to do is up to you! I did three little cakes with three layers each).  Cool the layers in the fridge before frosting (it helps with the crumbs!)

Vanilla Buttercream

2 sticks of unsalted butter (room temp, please!)

4 cups (may need more depending on thickness) of powdered sugar

2 tablespoons of milk (use sparingly, judge by consistency)

1 tsp of vanilla

Whip together at high speed so the frosting is fluffy and light.  Frost the layers and have your cake!

One thought on “Brown Sugar Mini Cakes

  1. These cakes are so precious! What a wonderful idea! I love anything and everything mini, and I have definitely run into the problem of too much leftover cake.

    I will be praying for you as you adjust to the paleo diet. I am desperately trying to be gluten . . . and sugar free . . . and alcohol free (haha) because I have an active infection of Lyme. Eating these things are only feeding the bacteria, making me sluggish, and giving me stomach aches. You think I would learn!! So, I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers. May we all strive to glorify God more with our eating habits.

    Love and miss you tons. And, I would be staying with you if I were in the dale for Homecoming.

Leave Your Thoughts

